The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole Tour: Review

Posted September 15, 2017 by love2dazzle in Features, Middle Grade, Promo Blitz, Reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Dial Books for Young Readers in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole Tour: ReviewThe Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole by Michelle Cuevas
Published by Dial Books for Young Readers on September 12th 2017
Pages: 208
Format: eBook, Hardcover
Source: Dial Books for Young Readers
Goodreads
five-stars

A girl's friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses.
When eleven-year-old Stella Rodriguez shows up at NASA to request that her recording be included in Carl Sagan's Golden Record, something unexpected happens: A black hole follows her home, and sets out to live in her house as a pet. The black hole swallows everything he touches, which is challenging to say the least—but also turns out to be a convenient way to get rid of those items that Stella doesn't want around. Soon the ugly sweaters her aunt has made for her all disappear within the black hole, as does the smelly class hamster she's taking care of, and most important, all the reminders of her dead father that are just too painful to have around.
It's not until Stella, her younger brother, Cosmo, the family puppy, and even the bathroom tub all get swallowed up by the black hole that Stella comes to realize she has been letting her own grief consume her. And that's not the only thing she realizes as she attempts to get back home. This is an astonishingly original and funny adventure with a great big heart.

Review:

The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole by Michelle Cuevas is absoutely adorable. This is one of the funniest and most creative middle grade books that I have read this year. I found myself really enjoying this cute little story. I think this is a great story that tackles losing a loved one.

Stella Rodriguez’s father has passed away and so Stella has to find a way to deal with it. Larry, the pet black hole, is eating his feelings. Whenever Larry touches something, it gets absorbed into his core and Larry really enjoys snuggling with soft and furry things. Then the unthinkable happens and he absorbs the dog with no name. Stella decides that she is going to go on a expedition to recover the puppy.

When Stella and her brother Cosmos goes on this adventure together, they learn to grieve over the lost of their father together. Stella learns the importance of admitting to yourself that losing someone you love can leave a hold in your life. I think this story is very fun but also covers some very deep subjects in a very well and insightful way for young readers. This story is so beautifully written. Even if you haven’t lost a love one, I think this is a fantastic story to read.

Schedule:

Week One:
September 12 – Welcome to Wonderland – Review & Activity (create your own pet Black Hole)
September 13 – Embers and Ashes – Review and Bookstagram
September 15 – Dazzled by Books – Review
 
Week Two:
September 18 – books4yourkids – Review (just Smoot)
September 19 – All Done Monkey – Review
September 20 – Four Violet Reviews – Creative piece
September 21 – DoodleMom’s Homeschooling Life – Review
September 22 – YABooksCentral – Author Guest Post – Top 5 listicle from author
 
Week Three:
September 25 – Teachers Who Read – Review?
September 26 – Here’s to Happy Endings – Review
September 27 – Mama Smiles – Review & Creative Activities
September 28 – Cracking the Cover – Review
five-stars

About Michelle Cuevas

Michelle Cuevas graduated from Williams College and holds an MFA in creative writing from the University of Virginia. She is the author of several children’s books, including Confessions of an Imaginary Friend and The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles. She lives in Berkshire County in Massachusetts.

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge