Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

Posted March 19, 2017 by love2dazzle in Reviews, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Wintersong by S. Jae-JonesWintersong by S. Jae-Jones
Published by Thomas Dunne Books on February 7th 2017
Pages: 436
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher on NetGallery
Goodreads
two-stars

The Instant New York Times Bestseller!
Bustle - 2017 YA Must ReadsPaste Magazine - Most Anticipated YA Books of 2017
Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and The Beauty and the Beast.
The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…
All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.
But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds—and the mysterious man who rules it—she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.
Rich with music and magic, S. Jae-Jones's Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won’t soon forget.
“Wintersong is a maze of beauty and darkness, of music and magic and glittering things, all tied together with exquisite writing. This is a world you will want to stay lost in.” —Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author
"This was Labyrinth by way of Angela Carter. Deliciously romantic, with a nuanced Goblin King and a strong heroine, this story was rife with fairy tales, music, and enchantment." —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

I’ve never seen the movie Labyrinth, so my dislike of this book is not because it didn’t compare to the movie. I was extremely excited to dive into this book. I soon found myself very disappointed with Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones. The main character Elisabeth is extremely whiny and annoying. No matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t get into this story. It is really hard to like a character that comes across pathetic and uninteresting. The Goblin didn’t help himself either. I found myself not wanting to finish this book at all. My determination made me finish especially since I was on the blog tour. As you can see my review is coming much later because I was not a fan.

two-stars

About S. Jae-Jones

Jae-Jones, called JJ, is a voracious and indiscriminate reader, an avid traveler, and something of an adrenaline junkie.

Born and raised in sunny Los Angeles, she lived in New York City for 10 years before relocating down to Dixie, where she is comfortably growing fat on grits and barbecue. When not writing, she can be find rock-climbing, skydiving, taking photographs, drawing pictures, and dragging her dog on ridiculously long hikes.

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge