Top 5 Reasons I Love The Crown’s Game

Posted January 16, 2017 by love2dazzle in Features, Promo Blitz / 4 Comments

Top 5 Reasons I Love The Crown’s GameThe Crown's Game by Evelyn Skye
Series: The Crown's Game #1
Published by Balzer + Bray on May 17th 2016
Pages: 399
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.
And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.
Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?
For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip-smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.
And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love…or be killed himself.
As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear—the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.

 

Today as part of the TSAR’S GUARD SPOTLIGHT TOUR, I want to share my top five reasons as to why I love The Crown’s Game. I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I did writing it.

5. Magic!

Who doesn’t love magic? For those that haven’t read The Crown’s Game, there is a game of sorts that two contestants have to out magic each other. I’ve never experienced magic this way in a book. Skye did a wonderful job with the magic and making the magic interesting. The game is very creative and imaginative. These two enchanters make the games extremely interesting. This type of magic novel is a favorite of mine.

4. The Secret that Leads to Conflict.

Nikolai Karimov is believed to be the only living enchanter. Then Vika Andreyeva appears and she has the gift of enchanting also. Since there can’t be two enchanters, one must be defeated and die. Vika has been raining her skills for this moment whereas Nikolai thought he had it in the bag. Neither one of their lives will ever be the same again.

3. The Stakes are High.

I love that the stakes are so high in The Crown’s Game. This is what drew me into the novel in the first place. This game of magic doesn’t end with just a winner and a loser, bu the enchanter that loses dies. As in Death. No Longer Living. How would you feel being a contestant in a game like this? These stakes could not be high and it kept me on my toes.

2. Royalty.

I am a sucker for books with royalty. Prices and Princesses? I am there. This game the enchanter’s are competing in is to be the one and only enchanter for the Tsar. As the reader we got small glimpses of the royal family. The most interaction the reader has with the royal family is Pasha Romanov. Pasha is the son of the Tsar. One of the enchanter’s is Pasha’s best friend and the other is the girl he is falling in love with. Skye gave her readers just enough taste of the royal family that it will leave you wanting more.

1. The Setting.

I love that the setting is in Russia. Being set in the 1820s Russia. I was able to learn some Russian history. Russia isn’t used as a setting very often and so I am always interested in reading and learning more. The way Skye describe Russia is so beautiful. Russia has such a beautiful culture and I want to learn more and read as much as I can. I hope we get more of this beautiful setting in The Crown’s Fate.

My Advice

You need to read The Crown’s Game before The Crown’s Fate comes out. This book is amazing, beautiful and fun. The Crown’s Game is written so beautifully, that you are sure to enjoy it. You are missing out if you have not gotten your hands on this book yet.

Meet The Crown’s Fate

The gorgeous and darkly compelling sequel to The Crown’s Game—perfect for fans of Red Queen and Shadow and Bone.

Magic is growing, shadows are rising, and the throne is at stake…

Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult—and dangerous—than she ever expected.

Pasha is grappling with his own problems—his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges—and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly—Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom.

For Nikolai, the ending of the Crown’s Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he’s given a second chance at life—tied to a dark price—Nikolai must decide just how far he’s willing to go to return to the world.

With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight—or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves.

Tour Schedule

 
Tour Schedule Link
Jan. 9th –Brittany’s Book Rambles: The Crown‘s Fate ReviewJan. 10th- Sarcasm & Lemons: FancastJan. 11th-The YA Book Traveler: History of Russian CrownsJan. 12th-Picnic Reads: Character-Based Book TagJan. 13th-Book Nerd Addict: Inspired Tote DesignJan.16thDazzled by Books: Top 5 Reasons I Love The Crown‘s GameJan. 17th– Rants and Raves of a Bibliophile: Characters Matched to Teas

Jan. 18th– The Book Buzz: New Enchanter

Jan. 19thThe Aus. Library: Famous Russian Fairytales

Jan. 20th– My Thoughts Literally: Character Inspired Dessert

Jan. 23rd– Omg Books and More Books: Books that Characters of TCG Would Enjoy

Jan. 24th– It Starts at Midnight: Virtual Tour of Russia

Jan. 25th– Next Page Please!: Character Blog

Jan. 26th– The Book Nut: Playlist

Jan. 27th– Arctic Books: Make-up Looks

Jan. 30th– Two Chicks on Books: Pinterest Recipe Board

Jan. 31th– Lost in Ever After: Typical Date for Nikolai & Vika

Feb.1st- Alexa Loves Books: Fashion Book Look

Feb.2nd- Sophie Reads YA: Russian History In and Out of The Crown‘s Game

Feb. 3rd– 21st Century Once Upon A Times: Drink Your Way Through The Crown‘s Game

Feb.6th- The Eater of Books: 10 Reason I’m Excited for TCF

Feb.7th- A Thousand Words A Million Books: Top 5 Magical Moves in The Crown‘s Game

Feb.8th- Seeing Double in Neverland: Fanmade Bookmarks & Swag

Feb. 9th- A Page With A View: YA Fantasy Books set in Russia

Feb.10th- Dana Square: Recipe from The Crown‘s Game

Feb.13th-YA Wednesdays: Favorite Quotes from The Crown‘s Game

Feb.14th- Juniper Reads: Sorting Characters into Fandoms

Feb.15th- Nicole’s Novel Reads: Nail Polish Looks

Feb.16th- The Queen Reads: What the Characters of TCG would take to a Deserted Island

Feb.17th- A Perfection Called Books: The Crown‘s Fate Review

Giveaway

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Evelyn Skye

Evelyn Skye is the New York Times bestselling author of THE CROWN’S GAME (out now!) and THE CROWN’S FATE (May 16, 2017). She was once offered a job by the C.I.A., she not-so-secretly wishes she was on “So You Think You Can Dance,” and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win. When Evelyn isn’t writing, she can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch, immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies.

About love2dazzle

Hey, I'm Ali. I am an avid reader and have been reading since I was around the age of 3. I have a book with me everywhere I go. I am also a writer. I love to write, journaling, blogging, and fiction. Books are the best way to escape from life sometimes. I am an aspiring author, my dream is to be published someday and, of course, work for HarperCollins. Right now, I am going to school to get my English and Marketing degree. I would like to have my own personal library someday. I love things that sparkle and glitter which is how I came up with the name Dazzled by Books. I love way too many books, so there is no way that I would be able to pick a favorite. I am addicted to Twitter, so if you would like to get to know me better, you can find me on there.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers

4 responses to “Top 5 Reasons I Love The Crown’s Game

  1. Agustina Z

    I loved The Crown’s Game! It was amazing! The setting, the magic, the incredibly creative game and I loved Pasha! Can’t wait to read The Crown’s Fate!

    • love2dazzle

      Thank you Brittany. I had so many reasons but I had to narrow done the ones I wanted to talk about the most.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge