The Deepest Night by Shana Abe

Posted January 14, 2017 by love2dazzle in Reviews, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher on NetGallery in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Deepest Night by Shana AbeThe Deepest Night by Shana Abe
Series: The Sweetest Dark #2
Published by Bantam on August 13th 2013
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher on NetGallery
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.
It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.
As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.
Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.
With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.
Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.

The Deepest Night by Shana Abe sucks you in right away. The story picks up no long after where The Sweetest Dark ended. Lora becomes closer to Armand as she grieves over Jesse. Armand will do anything to keep Lora around, so he ends up turning his home into a hospital for the wounded. He brings Lora on as a nurse in the house.

This relationship between Lora and Armand is very strained. I feel like it doesn’t work well for the two of them. As the story moves forward these two characters build on their relationship. Of course, Lora starts becoming confused about what she wants in her life.

I love how this book brings more to the series. Lora grows and shines in this story. It was great getting to see her grow. Abe writes so beautifully and it is hard not to enjoy her books.

 

four-stars

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge