Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Posted September 2, 2016 by love2dazzle in Reviews, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Delacorte Press in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Girl in Pieces by Kathleen GlasgowGirl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
Published by Delacorte Press on August 30th 2016
Pages: 416
Format: ARC
Source: Delacorte Press
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.  
START READING!
Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.    Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.   A deeply moving portrait of a teenage girl on the verge of losing herself and the journey she must take to survive in her own skin, Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.

Get Ready for Emotion

“Girl in Pieces” by Kathleen Glasgow is such an emotional read. The message that Glasgow brings to her readers is incredibly powerful. This book focuses on self harm and what your choices do.

Characters

Charlotte Davis is in rehab. She has lost everything. Her mother kicked her out of the house. Charlie’s best friend is gone. The other friends are MIA. She is trying to recover from her self harm issue. Charlie cuts herself to relieve the emotion and pain that she feels. Now she is beggining a journey that teaches her many more lessons.

Blue was a girl who Charlie would have never thought she would be friends with. In some ways I think Blue was there to teach Charlie some new lessons. Blue has her own messed up life.

There were times that I wanted to tell Charlie that she was being an idiot. Then there were other times that I would want to give her a hug. Charlie sure knows how to make bad decisions.

Writing

I didn’t like “Girl in Pieces” at first. Glasgow’s writing is very different. The way the characters interact with each other is very awkward. As the book goes on the writing becomes less awkward.

Glasgow truly shows how she understands Charlie and cutting. She talks like someone who knows how to overcome an issue. The writing shows the relapses along with the getting better parts of Charlie’s recovery. It is gory and raw. Charlie isn’t’ looking for attention, she is trying to deal with her problems and pain the only way she knows how.

Life Issues

This book has many heavy and hard subjects in it. The type of subjects that we don’t like to talk about. Kids living on the streets. Kids being sexually abused. The talk of drugs and alcohol. Teenagers and adults having mental issues. This book brought out so many emotions. The struggles that people have need to be listened too.

Kathleen Glasgow, thank you for sharing your story with me.

four-stars

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge