Book Review: My (Part-time) Paris Life by Lisa Anselmo

Posted September 29, 2016 by love2dazzle in Non-Fiction, Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: My (Part-time) Paris Life by Lisa AnselmoMy (Part-Time) Paris Life: How Running Away Brought Me Home by Lisa Anselmo
Published by Thomas Dunne Books on October 11th 2016
Pages: 256
Goodreads
three-stars

A memoir by a woman who confronts her lifelong fear of change, buys an apartment in Paris, and discovers that this one decision opens doors to a new life she never would have imagined.
Poignant, touching, and lively, this memoir of a woman who loses her mother and creates a new life for herself in Paris will speak to anyone who has lost a parent or reinvented themselves. Lisa Anselmo wrapped her entire life around her mother, a strong woman who was a defining force in her daughter’s life—maybe too defining. When her mother dies from breast cancer, Lisa realizes she hadn’t built a life of her own, and struggles to find her purpose. Who is she without her mother—and her mother’s expectations?
Desperate for answers, she reaches for a lifeline in the form of an apartment in Paris, refusing to play it safe for the first time. What starts out as a lurching act of survival sets Lisa on a course that reshapes her life in ways she never could have imagined. But how can you imagine a life bigger than anything you’ve ever known?
In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love and Wild, My (Part-time) Paris Life a story is for anyone who’s ever felt lost or hopeless, but still holds out hope of something more. This candid memoir explores one woman’s search for peace and meaning, and how the ups and downs of expat life in Paris taught her to let go of fear, find self-worth, and create real, lasting happiness.

Anselmo is a great writer. I enjoyed reading her memoir, “My (Part-time) Paris Life.” After Anselmo lost her mother, she started a new life in Paris. It is a brave thing to do, opening up about your fears. I think the hard part about this memoir is that it is extremely repetitive. I think the focus around food is a bit much. Bravo to Anselmo for taking the leap and writing her memoir.

three-stars

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge