Ice like Fire by Sara Raasch

Posted May 8, 2016 by love2dazzle in Reviews, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Ice like Fire by Sara RaaschIce Like Fire by Sara Raasch
Series: Snow Like Ashes #2
Published by HarperCollins on October 13th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Family, Orphans & Foster Homes, Love & Romance
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover, Audiobook
Source: Hardcover, Audiobook, My Own
Buy on AmazonBuy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

Game of Thrones meets Graceling in this thrilling fantasy filled with shocking twists and heart-pounding action, the highly anticipated sequel to Snow Like Ashes. This action-packed series is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses.
It's been three months since the Winterians were freed and Spring's king, Angra, disappeared—thanks largely to the help of Cordell.
Meira just wants her people to be safe. When Cordellan debt forces the Winterians to dig their mines for payment, they unearth something powerful and possibly dangerous: Primoria's lost chasm of magic. Theron sees this find as an opportunity—with this much magic, the world can finally stand against threats like Angra. But Meira fears the danger the chasm poses—the last time the world had access to so much magic, it spawned the Decay. So when the king of Cordell orders the two on a mission across the kingdoms of Primoria to discover the chasm's secrets, Meira plans on using the trip to garner support to keep the chasm shut and Winter safe—even if it means clashing with Theron. But can she do so without endangering the people she loves?
Mather just wants to be free. The horrors inflicted on the Winterians hang fresh and raw in Jannuari—leaving Winter vulnerable to Cordell's growing oppression. When Meira leaves to search for allies, he decides to take Winter's security into his own hands. Can he rebuild his broken Kingdom and protect them from new threats?
As the web of power and deception is woven tighter, Theron fights for magic, Mather fights for freedom—and Meira starts to wonder if she should be fighting not just for Winter but for the world.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

“Ice Like Fire” by Sara Raasch was a decent follow-up to the first book. I don’t think it was executed as well as the first novel, but it was still really good. The hard thing about second books is they can be a hit or a miss and I think “Ice Like Fire” is one of the lucky ones that falls somewhere in between.

Meira recently found out about the truth of who she really is and now she is trying to restore her kingdom. She is no longer a nameless orphan but one of quite significant importance. She is trying really hard to find the difference between her queen self and her old self. I think this book is a huge stepping stone of Meira trying to figure out who she wants to be in her life. She grew up believing that she is a nobody and now she is the most important person in the Winter Kingdom. Now everyone wants a piece of her and a piece of her kingdom. The last thing that Meira wants to do is hand her kingdom over when she just got it back and she definitely doesn’t want magic to end up in the wrong hands.

 

e2410f37-e7fb-4a2b-821a-e6194850b5c7.jpg._CB291891265_

 

Meira has learned so much about herself. She is learning what it is to be a good queen. I like that Meira thinks of her people first. She wants to do what is best for them. Meira learned that she is now the conduit of Winter’s magic and to her she doesn’t completely understand everything that means. “Ice Like Fire” is about her discovering what that means and everything that she wants.

Meira doesn’t think she can make mistakes because the kingdom has suffered so much. Because of this, I think Meira falls short of a good character this time around. She has to be able to make mistakes in order to be a good queen. If she doesn’t make any mistakes, then she is never going to make any decisions for her kingdom and the last thing that Meira needs is someone else to make all the decisions.

 

0389c7a6-45ab-45a7-80b8-e8f742e291d9.jpg._CB291891252_

 

Again I would have to say that “Ice Like Fire” was just as predictable as “Snow Like Ashes” because I was able to peg how the story was going to go from the very beginning. I still very much enjoyed reading this book. I think it is one of the better sequels I have read even when it suffers form the second book syndrome. Conflicts in the story became very repetitive. I am hoping book three will finish out strong and I am looking forward to reading the conclusion of this trilogy.

 

four-stars

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge