Dark Energy by Robison Wells

Posted April 7, 2016 by love2dazzle in Reviews, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from HarperCollins International, HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Dark Energy by Robison WellsDark Energy by Robison Wells
Published by HarperCollins on March 29th 2016
Genres: Action & Adventure, General, Law & Crime, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Source: HarperCollins International, HarperTeen
Goodreads
three-half-stars

We are not alone. They are here. And there’s no going back. Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the I Am Number Four series, Dark Energy is a thrilling stand-alone science fiction adventure from Robison Wells, critically acclaimed author of Variant and Blackout.Five days ago, a massive UFO crashed in the Midwest. Since then, nothing—or no one—has come out.If it were up to Alice, she’d be watching the fallout on the news. But her dad is director of special projects at NASA, so she’s been forced to enroll in a boarding school not far from the crash site. Alice is right in the middle of the action, but even she isn’t sure what to expect when the aliens finally emerge. Only one thing is clear: everything has changed.

“Dark Energy” by Robinson Wells was a lot better than I was expecting but still a bit disappointing in the end.  The story was lacking an ending to me. I feel like it wasn’t completely wrapped up in the end. I will explain more as I go on.

The story starts off with Alice. She is being moved to a new town to go to a private high school that is for the rich and talented children. Alice is being moved here because her dad is the director of special projects for NASA and there happens to be an alien spaceship that has landed in the cold atmosphere of Minnesota.

When the aliens step out of the spaceship and it becomes a big spectacle on Earth. Now two alien teenagers are being put into Alice’s new school. The girl alien ends up being assigned to Alice’s dorm. Alice and her friends being much smarter than the school, government, and society give them credit for, were able to figure out that there is way more to these aliens then what the government is saying and also what the aliens are saying themselves.

The writing and dialogue were great. The characters were a lot of fun. I loved reading Alice and her father interacting. I think the two of them made the best duo ever. I would love to see more books that had a father daughter duo like this one did. I loved how all of the characters interacted with each other. I think that is what made this story really good.

The part that was hard and disappointing was the fact that the story with the aliens just didn’t seem to be fully developed. I found myself disappointed with how the story ended. The story didn’t end badly, I just feel like there is something missing from the story and I can’t quite pinpoint it. It doesn’t feel complete.

three-half-stars

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge