You Were Here by Cori McCathy

Posted April 2, 2016 by love2dazzle in Reviews, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher on NetGallery in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

You Were Here by Cori McCathyYou Were Here by Cori McCarthy
Published by Sourcebooks, Inc. on March 1st 2016
Genres: Action & Adventure, Death & Dying, Friendship, General, Social Issues, Social Themes, Young Adult, Young Adult Fiction
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher on NetGallery
Goodreads
two-stars

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points of view combined with stunning illustrations. Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation. Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She's not crazy, okay? She just doesn't have a whole lot of respect for staying alive. Jaycee doesn't expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she's joined by a group of unlikely friends all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and... Mik. He doesn't talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.Cori McCarthy's gripping narrative defies expectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennier Niven, and Jandy Nelson. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world's largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak and inevitable change.

I want to start off by saying that “You Were Here” is not a graphic novel. For some reason it has been listed as a graphic novel in several places and it definitely is not a graphic novel.

Jaycee has never figured out how to deal with the loss of her older brother Jake. Jake was a daredevil who tempted fate many times with his crazy over the top stunts. When someone dared Jake to do a back flip off some playground equipment, Jake attempted the stunt even though he had been drinking and ended up snapping his neck. Now Jaycee is graduating and she doesn’t know how to move on with her life.

Jaycee decides to recreate her brother’s stunts to try to find a sense of nearness to him. It seems that while she is trying to do this, she had made some odd friend connections that were originally her brother’s friends. It seems that Jaycee has some form of survivor’s guilt so all she truly wants her brother back but he is dead.

There really wasn’t a whole lot of depth to this book for me. I was disappointed to see that most of the book is about Jaycee trying to do these stunts and find a way to connect with her brother who is no longer living. I felt like Jaycee didn’t care how reckless she was being. I feel like she should have learned more from her brother’s death. This book was just not for me. I think teens may like it because of the fact that it is one of those filler reads rather than something you can really engross yourself into.

 

two-stars

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge