A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

Posted February 28, 2016 by love2dazzle in New Adult, Reviews, Young Adult / 0 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on December 11th 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, General, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audiobook, Hardcover, My Own
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beastwith faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

This review has been long overdue for “A Court of Thorns and Roses” by Sarah J. Maas. I love Celaena’s story in “Throne of Glass” but I love Feyre even more. “A Court of Thorns and Roses” is an amazing retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I loved it. Besides the fact that Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite “princess” stories, I think Maas did a great job bringing this fairy tale to life. Maas is a great writer because she brings these amazing action scenes to life. As the reader that I am always drawn into the story.

In “A Court of Thorns and Roses,” Feyre lives in poverty with her father and two sisters. Her sisters are very girly and Feyre is the one who seems to be the more the mature one that takes care of the family. She is the one that goes hunting and the one that sells the goods that she gets for money to feed the family. Feyre ends up getting herself mixed up in the wrong world to say the least, but that is truly where the story begins.

It was very different reading this story from Feyre’s point of view. Maas wrote in third person in the “Throne of Glass” series which is what I was expecting. The first person point of view really made sense as the reader gets deeper into the story. I have to say I liked this style of writing for Maas. I thought she did a great job with it. I look forward to seeing what is in store for the next novel.

This is definitely one of those books that is on the borderline of young adult and new adult. There is some material in the book that I would classify more as a new adult novel rather than a young adult novel but then at the say time there is a young adult feel to the story as well. There is some sex in this book, so I think in that way the category should be more new adult than young adult. These characters are in more mature situations. There is some explicit content, so I do think it is borderline for both the new adult books and the young adult books.

As a reader, I don’t think anyone would be disappointed with this book. The characters are great. The content is great and as much as I want to hate saying this but I just don’t….I love this book more than “Throne of Glass.” I think this is a great start to a new series and I am really looking forward to reading more.


468×60 Seasonal Promotions – Banner Rotator

five-stars

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge