Book Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

Posted January 29, 2016 by love2dazzle in Reviews, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Book Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno99 Days by Katie Cotugno
Published by Harper Collins on April 21st 2015
Genres: Death & Dying, Friendship, Love & Romance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audiobook, Hardcover, My Own
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer—99 days—with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for . . . his brother.Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that's how I know everyone still remembers everything. She has every right to hate me, of course: I broke Patrick Donnelly's heart the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. Now I'm serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college and be done.Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn't finished. I'm expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it's just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me.

“99 Days” by Katie Cotugno is a book that drove my crazy. Let me start by reviewing all the good things and then I will tell you why “99 Days” drove me crazy. I loved the way the chapters are set up in this book. there are 99 chapters for the 99 days that we follow our main character Molly. Molly is returning home for the summer from boarding school. She is dreading it like crazy because she didn’t leave town on good terms. As soon as she got back the rumors started flying again along with the egging of her house and crude notes and whispers.

As the story goes on the reader finds out day by day what happened to make Molly run away to boarding school and then what is currently happening now in the present. I love how Molly is able to tell her story. No one seems to care about Molly’s side of things. Then when Gabe the older brother of Molly’s ex-boyfriend becomes the only person to talk to her in town. Rumors really start to fly. It was something that happened between Molly, Patrick, and Gabe last year.

I don’t want to spill too much, so I am going to talk more about my reaction. I was listening to the audiobook which was good. I loved the narrator and I thought she was really good at narrating the story. The narration kept me entertained to keep up with the book. To be completely honest, the heroine was driving me crazy. Allyson Ryan is so great. She makes the book a lot of fun.

Let’s talk about Molly. I really liked Molly in the beginning of the book. I actually felt really bad for her. I wish that people would treat her differently. Every human makes mistakes and well I didn’t feel like Molly’s peers should keep punishing her. She didn’t deserve what she was getting. BUT…then Molly started making mistakes and this time she knows that what she is doing is wrong. The whole time I am saying “SERIOUSLY MOLLY!!!” Why can’t she figure out that what she is doing is bad. I was so frustrated with her.

Even with all of that, I still wanted Molly to end up with a happy ending and I don’t really know if that really happened too her. I hope that Molly grows up while she is in college. I hope that she makes better choices and I do hope she ends up with the perfect guy. I really want her to have a happy life. I was just disappointed with how the character was written.

three-half-stars

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge