Book Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

Posted December 31, 2015 by love2dazzle in Reviews, Young Adult / 0 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Book Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula StokesLiars, Inc. by Paula Stokes
Published by Harper Collins on March 24th 2015
Genres: Family, Love & Romance, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Orphans & Foster Homes, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Source: My Own
Buy on AmazonBuy on Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars

A dark and twisted psychological tale, which Kirkus Reviews called "captivating to the very end" in a starred review—perfect for fans of I Hunt Killers and Gone Girl.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money. So with the help of his friend Preston and his girlfriend, Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something, and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn't think twice about it. But then Preston never comes home. And the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead to Preston's body.

Terrifying clues that point to Max as the killer….

I loved “Liars, Inc!” There were twists and turns through out the entire story. I feel like Paula Stokes out did herself with this one. “Liars, Inc” is a young adult thriller that will have readers hooked until the very last page. It has been hard trying to find a really good thriller for young adult readers. I feel like Stokes was able to hit the thriller genre right on the mark. “Liars, Inc” is a story that will keep the readers guessing. Even if one thinks they have everything figured out, they will find out that they are completely wrong. It was so hard not peaking ahead to see what was going to happen.

The characters in “Liars, Inc.” were fantastic. I really enjoyed the characters. The characters had me guessing the whole time of who was guilty. I couldn’t help but keep Max as a suspect. Each character had so many sides. These are some of the most dynamic characters I’ve ever read about. Max, Preston, and Parvati were all really good friends. Max was dating Parvati and Preston was both of their best friend. Life was great until Preston goes missing. Everyone believes that Max got rid of Preston. Parvati came across as a sketchy rich girl for the majority of the book. As the reader I knew something was up with her even though I couldn’t figure it out. Max was always doubting his relationship, not understanding why Parvati wants to be with a poor adoptive kid like himself. The one thing I didn’t care for is everything about Parvati screamed sex and I feel like it was a bit much.

This story is such a good one. I think this novel really shows how talented of a writer Stokes is. I am looking forward to more books from her. I enjoyed all of her past novels. I am ready for something new and fun. I love how Stokes is able to engage her readers and keep them guessing and of coursed hooked. I like when novels are fast reads that have a great pace to them. I think that makes is much easier for someone to read a book.

five-stars

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge