Waiting on Wednesday: A Step Toward Falling

Posted May 20, 2015 by love2dazzle in Features, Waiting on Wednesday / 0 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday: A Step Toward FallingA Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern
Published by HarperCollins on October 13th 2015
Genres: Diseases, Illnesses & Injuries, Health & Daily Living, Love & Romance, Social Issues, Special Needs, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Goodreads

Cammie McGovern follows up her breakout young adult debut, Say What You Will, with this powerful and unforgettable novel about learning from your mistakes, and learning to forgive. Told in alternating points of view, A Step Toward Falling is a poignant, hopeful, and altogether stunning work that will appeal to fans of Jennifer Nevin, Robyn Schneider, and Jandy Nelson.Emily has always been the kind of girl who tries to do the right thing—until one night when she does the worst thing possible. She sees Belinda, a classmate with developmental disabilities, being attacked. Inexplicably, she does nothing at all. Belinda, however, manages to save herself. When their high school finds out what happened, Emily and Lucas, a football player who was also there that night, are required to perform community service at a center for disabled people. Soon, Lucas and Emily begin to feel like maybe they're starting to make a real difference. Like they would be able to do the right thing if they could do that night all over again. But can they do anything that will actually help the one person they hurt the most?

Why I am Waiting?

McGovern destroyed my feelings in her debut novel “Say What You Will.” I am looking forward to another McGovern book. I thought “Say What You Will” was fantastic. I can’t wait to find out what emotional whirlwind I will get to go through this time around. A story about learning to forgive will definitely put you through the ringer.

About love2dazzle

Ali Kiki is a reader, writer, reviewer, blogger, and photographer in Portland, OR. An avid reader since childhood, you can usually find her devouring a book or stalking the bookstagram hashtag in her lovely apartment surrounded by books. Ali has been blogging since 2006 and she created Dazzled by Books in 2012. Her most recent adventure is making bookish candles for Stub Tail Candle Co., which are sold on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge